Day 3

Day 3

Ughh. Just, Ughh.

I’m still not like starving, I don’t feel weak or anything, but today was just not a great day.

To start off, I woke up to rain. It’s hard to believe that exactly a week ago we were tubing on the Columbia River in 90 degree weather, and only 7 days later, I’m in jeans and boots and layering sweatshirts to go outside. Sometimes I wonder why I still live in the northwest.

Thanks to the weather, I had no interest in going for a walk. I did a little yoga inside but I just couldn’t get into it today. I also walked on the treadmill for about 40 minutes, hoping some endorphins might improve my mood, but apparently I didn’t go hard enough because it didn’t do the trick at all. Blech. And it definitely doesn’t help that I have this nagging ache in my back from my job. Its becoming excruciating.

To make matters worse, Joe is going absolutely stir crazy about the whole not drinking thing, and we’ve been getting on each others nerves constantly.

So the combination of arguing with Joe, the rain, and the back pain doesn’t make for a great cleansing day. Even my shower routine that I’ve come to love so much couldn’t snap me out of it.

The day did look up a bit when we met up with some friends to watch the Washington State game. Although seeing my beloved Cougs lose to San Diego State sucked, my friend and fellow vegan, Ilan, suggested we double date and make dinner at Joe’s place. She mentioned she had a recipe for cream of broccoli soup that would ahdere to the guidelines of my cleanse.

So the two of us and our boyfriends had some delicious soup while watching a really disturbing movie, and honestly it was just great to be around people and feel social even though I’m not eating like a “normal” person. And, I have a new recipe to add to my repretoire!

Ilan’s Cream of Broccoli Soup

5 c. water

1 heaping tbsp. powdered veggie broth (I use Rapunzel)

1 c. cashews (we used roasted but I bet raw would be better, soak for 2 hours or so to get the best results)

1 large head broccoli, chopped

1 onion, diced

2 carrots, peeled and diced

2 stalks celery, diced

1 tsp. sea salt (or more to taste)

Boil 4 c. water and add veggie broth mix. Stir until dissolved. Steam all veggies over boiling broth for 3-4 minutes, or until veggies are just starting to soften up. In a high powered blender or food processor, blend cashews with remaining 1 cup of water until completely smooth (this is important! If they aren’t completely blended your soup will be watery). Add veggies and broth and blend until mostly smooth. Serve warm. Sprinkle with ground pepper and nutritional yeast.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

