Day 4 – Feeling Refreshed!

After a bit of a downer day, I really needed a pick me up. Luckily, I got it.

The majority of the day was boring, until 3 p.m. rolled around.

It’s VegFest time.

Ilan and I had been getting excited about VegFest for weeks now, and the day we’d planned on attending had finally arrived. Neither of us really knew what to expect, so we gave ourselves a few hours of wandering and planned to watch a screening of Forks Over Knives at 5 p.m.

A little back story on my friend Ilan: for awhile, she lived in San Francisco. A couple months back she was in town for our friend Jamie’s birthday, and on the drive out to the coast we talked a lot about my newfound veganism (I hadn’t seen her since I’d cut out meat). At first, she was skeptical; worried about my health and weather I was eating enough substantial food. But after a weekend of talking to her about it, she decided she wanted to give it a try. She gave up all but fish at first, but she found that she loved the plant based diet so much that she gave that up as well. She’s been happily vegan ever since, and now that she’s back in town, I’m loving having a friend who shares my views on nutrition!

So both of us being fairly new to the vegan world, we’d obviously never attended VegFest before, and wow, I had no IDEA what I was missing out on. Tons of vegan vendors giving out samples, speakers and demos, and all sorts of vegan goodies to buy. It was seriously heaven. Even Joe got into the spirit by devouring fake meat products and buying a VitaMix (our smoothies are about to get a serious makeover). I wrote a more detailed account of my favorite products on my other blog.

Between that and seeing Forks Over Knives again, I couldn’t have had a more renewing experience. Amidst the craziness of detoxing, it was so nice to be reassured that I really am doing the right thing for my health. I haven’t felt so alive and invigorated in weeks, and my passion was sparked once again, reminding me that this really is my purpose in life. I left feeling like I was walking on air, and ready to take on the world. I’m still kicking myself for not spending the entire weekend in that convention center…

To top things off, both Ilan and my parents commented on how healthy I look. Ilan said I’m looking a lot slimmer, which is a major plus, and my parents said I look healthier than I have in months. Well, I feel healthier than I have in months, thats for damn sure. It’s nice to hear that the cleanse is working, even only 4 days in.

Only 2 more weeks to go!

Leave a comment